Georgia drivers must manage at least minimal auto insurance.
The state of Georgia offers much in the way of history, beauty and southern hospitality. Georgia drivers, as in other states, must follow certain auto insurance laws and requirements in order to be granted the privilege of driving. While car insurance laws in Georgia are similar to insurance laws in many other states, following are some specifics.
Georgia law requires all motorists to carry accident liability insurance for every vehicle they own. Similarly, motorists don't need to insure wrecked, salvaged or junked vehicles or vehicles with an expired lease. Vehicles used seasonally or for agricultural purposes, such as farming equipment, do not require auto insurance.
Georgia follows the tort system when it comes to traffic accidents. Tort law requires that one of the involved parties in an accident must be to blame. Because of this tort system, Georgia motorists aren't required to carry personal injury insurance or uninsured/under-insured motorist protection. For example, assume you have the minimum-required insurance coverage and you get into an accident with an uninsured motorist. Tort requires one of you to be "at fault." If it's you, your insurance will cover the uninsured party's damages. If, however, the uninsured motorist is at fault, you may be out of luck in terms of recovering money from him.
Georgia carries heavy penalties for those caught driving without auto insurance. CarInsurance.com states that being found driving without insurance in Georgia will result in a 60- to 90-day suspension of the driver's license. Without proper proof of insurance, Georgia does not allow residents to register or renew vehicle registration or driver's licenses. If a driver is pulled over or in an accident and can't provide proof of insurance, her vehicle may be towed. Driving without insurance also carries with it several fines if caught.
Georgia offers certain exemptions to its insurance laws regarding coverage and minimum requirements. For example, motorists are not required to insure inoperable vehicles, repossessed vehicles or vehicles that have been stolen. Drivers must carry at least $25,000 per person for injuries, $50,000 for bodily injury of two people or more and $25,000 for property damage. These minimums are often referred to as "25/50/25" to easily classify the requirements. A word of warning: These minimums are designed solely to protect other drivers from accidents you cause. This minimum coverage will not help pay for any damage to your vehicle, person or property in the event of a car accident.